Gender Working Group

© ©estudiobaena

The Gender Working Group (GWG) was formed 2017 to contribute to the implementation of the Statement of Principles and Actions: Promoting the Equality and Status of Women in Research (endorsed 2016). Accountable to the Executive Support Group, the GWG is guided, in its deliberations, activities and strategic planning by the two overarching considerations adopted by its action plan: the participation and promotion of women in the research workforce; and the integration of the gender dimension in research design and in the analysis of research outcomes. On that basis, the GWG is working on the following tasks:

  • Set, update and implement a GWG action plan 
  • Gather and share information from GRC organisations and GRC regions
  • Provide recommendations on future work streams
  • Promote GWG outputs worldwide, in GRC regional meetings and within individual GRC participating organisations

Booklet: "Supporting Women in Research"
Policies, Programs and Initiatives Undertaken by Public Research Funding Agencies

Video by Roshni Abedin, co-chair of the Gender Working Group from the 2019 Sao Paulo Annual Meeting

The GWG is constituted by representatives of the GRC regions who are nominated and supported by their respective GRC Heads of Research Councils. The GWG may request additional expertise as necessary. Bi-annually, two co-chairs representing the Global North and the Global South from amongst its membership, are selected and supported by the respective GRC Heads of Research Councils. Working group members act as the lead GWG champions in their respective GRC regions.

Participating GRC Organisations

Senegal                       Ministère Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche
South Africa               National Research Foundation (NRF) - GWG co-lead

Brazil                            Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP)

Canada                         Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)

New Zealand              Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment
Sri Lanka                      National Science Foundation
Europe                           Science Europe
Germany                       German Research Foundation (DFG)

United Kingdom          UK Research und Innovation (UKRI) - GWG co-lead

Oman                            The Research Council
Saudi Arabia                King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology (KACST)