Governing Board

© DFG/Außenhofer

Governing Board

GRC participants confer on the Governing Board primary responsibility for:

  • Developing the appropriate processes and identifying procedures required for all GRC activities
  • Identifying priority work areas for GRC activities
  • Determining the host countries for GRC Annual and Regional Meetings
  • Defining the roles and responsibilities of the two Co-Chairs of the Executive Support Group as well as the Executive Secretary
  • Amending the terms of the GRC’s foundational document 

The Governing Board consists of up to eleven heads of national research councils that are active participants in the GRC. Ex officio members can be added by the members of the Governing Board. The Governing Board members are elected for three years, successive terms are possible. Nomination and selection of the eleven regular Governing Board members is the responsibility of each of the five world regions according to the following numbers:

  • Three from the Americas
  • Three from Europe
  • Three from the Asia-Pacific
  • One from Sub-Saharan Africa
  • One from the Middle East and North Africa (MENA)

B. Mario Pinto

President, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)

Vladislav Panchenko

President, Russian Foundation for Basic Reseach (RFBR)

Abdulaziz Al-Swailem

Vice-President, King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology (KACST)
Saudi Arabia

Yuichiro Anzai

President, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)

France Córdova

Director, National Science Foundation (NSF)
United States

Zakri Abdul Hamid

Science Advisor to the Prime Minister

Molapo Qhobela

Chief Executive Officer of the National Research Foundation (NRF)
South Africa

Marc Schiltz

President of Science Europe
CEO of the Luxembourg National Research Fund (FNR)

Peter Strohschneider

President, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Yang Wei

President, National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC)